Trio Sonata on a theme by Herbert Howells

Opus: 18
Written for: organ
Movements: Allegro – Andante – Vivace
Duration: circa 12 min.
Details: the theme of Rhapsody IV by Herbert Howells is the starting-point for all three movements. The premiere was played by Paul Derrett (a pupil of Howells) on the organ of the Nieuwe Kerk at Delft. This Trio Sonata was intended as a modern counterpart to those by Bach, hence this trio sonata is quite challenging for the performer.

Score example: click here for the beginning of movement III
Sound example: click here to hear an extract of movement III